The United Arab Emirates (UAE) has placed Kenya on its red alert list following the detection of the Omicron variant of coronavirus.

As a result, persons traveling to the Gulf state from Kenya will face stricter travel requirements to enter the country.

The Dubai Civil Aviation Authority says passengers originating from Kenya must have a valid negative Covid-19 test certificate issued 48 hours from the time the sample was collected.

They are also required to take a PCR test upon arrival in Dubai and self-quarantine until a negative test result is out.

“Direct passengers will have to present a Rapid PCR test report that should be based on molecular diagnostic testing intended for the qualitative detection of nucleic acid for SARS-COV-2 viral RNA; conducted at the departure airport prior to 6 hours of departure, provided with QR code system,” the UAE aviation authority said in a statement.  

Similarly, transit passengers will have to present a valid negative Covid-19 test certificate obtained within 48 hours after collection of the sample.

Kenya was added to the UAE red list alongside Burundi, Cameroon, Chad, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, and Zambia.

The UAE aviation authority has also ordered all airlines to verify the authenticity of the passenger requirements before they board flights, failure to which they will be fined and the passengers rejected.

On Wednesday, Kenya reported three cases of the Omicron variant among passengers arriving from South Africa. The passengers include two Kenyans and one South African national. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here